It is against the law in every state for a driver to operate a vehicle while drunk, intoxicated, or taking any illegal substances. Depending on the state, this offense may be called DUI, DWI, OWI, or something similar.
The case may be dropped, or the charges may be reduced even if there is proof of impairment from a high BAC (blood alcohol content). In addition, lawyers may typically work out reduced sentences and therapeutic diversion programs with prosecutors.
You should contact a DUI defense attorney as soon as possible if a law enforcement officer spots you drinking and driving.
However, one reason most people don’t hire DUI lawyers is the expense of doing so. The primary reason for this is that they are unaware of the fees charged by these lawyers.
To begin, the price of these lawyers will change depending on the region in which you are located. This should give you a general estimate of how much it would cost to hire a DUI attorney in Florida.
How Much Should I Expect to Spend For a Florida DUI Lawyer?
For a DUI attorney’s fees to vary, it depends on the attorney’s amount of experience, talent, and public reputation. The cost of a new attorney is lower than that of a seasoned one.
Attorney costs in Florida may vary from $1,500 to $7,500 for a first-time DUI misdemeanor. A felony accusation might be brought against you if the consequences of your DUI led to significant harm or death.
Attorneys specializing in criminal cases charge a premium since the legal procedure may be lengthy and burdensome. Up to $10,000 might be spent on a felony DUI lawyer.
A high-priced attorney cannot ensure that your DUI charges will be dismissed. The court might still hand down a conviction. Avoid being fooled by promises of success in finding a lawyer.
An intelligent lawyer will not promise to be a get-out-of-jail-free card but will explain the dangers and repercussions of the charges.
How Much Does a First-time DUI in Florida Cost?
First-offense DUI penalties are $500 to $1,000. Fines vary from $1,000 to $2,000 if you had a BAC of.15 or a vehicle was in the automobile. A Florida DUI has additional costs.
Drivers may use their DUI ticket as a driving permit for ten days. Your license will be suspended, restored for work only, or fully reinstated for unrestricted usage after that time. You must complete a hardship license application and pay non-refundable costs.
Taxis may be your only choice after a DUI conviction if you can’t get a hardship license. In Florida, the minimum cab rate is $7.50, substantially higher than petrol. Multiply it by dozens of rides, and you’ll spend hundreds.
A DUI may also result in a court-ordered ignition interlock device. An IID lease costs $95-$125 per month with a $100 installation charge. Some firms forego the installation price, but a six-month IID costs roughly $700. A BAC of.15 or above requires a 6-month ignition interlock device.
DUI courses and drug treatment may also be required. First-time DUI convictions cost $265 in 2017. During probation, you’ll additionally pay for drug tests.
Now that you know the price range of a DUI lawyer in Florida, you should know how much it would cost to hire an attorney in your city if you were charged with a DUI there.
What's Your Reaction?
Hi, I am Betty Knight, Owner of this site! I am a 'nearing 30-year-old', happily married to 1 awesome man. We live in the beautiful tourist town of Franklin NY.